Sarkari Job,sarkari job,sarkari result,sarkari exam,sarkariresult,sarkariexam

Sarkari Job



Welcome To Sarkari Result, Sarkari Exam, (SARKARIJOBFIND.COM)

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Last Updated On August 21, 2019

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

The Government of India recruits candidates for various vacancies by conducting different exams. It is due to the job-security and post-retirement stability that government exams are considered to be more secure and prestigious.

SSC CGL is a combined graduate level examination conducted by the Staff Selection Commission for filling up the vacancies in Grade B and Grade C positions.

Here in this article, we will discuss the exam pattern for SSC CGL exam.

As per the notification of 2018, the tier-I of SSC CGL exam was conducted from 4.6.2019 to 13.6.2019. Approximately, 25.87 lakh candidates applied for this exam.

Apart from SSC CGL examination, some of the other SSC exams conducted every year are :

  2. SSC JE
  3. SSC GD

For more details on SSC CGL notification, visit the official website of SSC exams.

SSC CGL exam comprises 4 levels:

  1. Tier-I
  2. Tier-II
  3. Tier-III
  4. Tier-IV

The detailed exam pattern for the SSC CGL exam is discussed below:

  1. SSC CGL Tier-I:

The tier-I of SSC CGL is an online test and consists of objective type questions. There are four sections included in the tier-I. The details can be found below:


SSC CGL Tier-I Total number of questions Maximum marks
General Intelligence & Reasoning 25 50
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Language and Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200


The time allotted for the exam is 60 minutes and a negative marking of 0.5 marks will be deducted for every wrong answer.

  1. SSC CGL Tier-II

It is an objective exam and consists of four papers:

  1. Quantitative Abilities
  2. English Language and Comprehension
  3. Statistics
  4. General Studies (Finance & Economics)

To know more refer to the table below:

SSC CGL Tier-II No. of Questions Maximum Marks
Paper-I: Quantitative Abilities 100 200
Paper-II: English language and Comprehension 200 200
Paper-III: Statistics 100 200
Paper-IV: General Studies (Finance & Economics) 100 200


Paper-I and Paper-II are compulsory papers.

Negative marking in Paper-II (English Language and Comprehension) is 0.25 marks for each wrong answer and for Paper-I, Paper-III and Paper-IV it is 0.50 marks.

Since many candidates apply for government exams every year, the chance of competition remains high.


  1. SSC CGL Tier-III

Mode of this exam is offline and is descriptive. Tier-III of SSC CGL exam tests the writing skills of the candidate where they are required to write essays, applications, letters etc. The medium of exam is English / Hindi and carries a total of 100 marks. This exam is of qualifying nature, and candidates must score 33% of the marks to qualify this round.


  1. SSC CGL Tier-IV

Tier-IV comprises a couple of skill tests for specific government posts.

DEST (Data Entry Speed Test):

This test is specifically for the post of Tax Assistants (Central Excise & Income Tax)  and tests the typing speed of the candidate.

The typing speed required is 8,000 (eight thousand) key depressions per hour on Computer.

The candidates are provided with a passage of about 2000 (two thousand) key depressions for 15 (fifteen) minutes.


CPT (Computer Proficiency Test):

The exam comprises three modules –

  • Word Processing,
  • Spreadsheet
  • Generation of Slides

The test is conducted for the post of  CSS, MEA and Serious Fraud Investigation Office (SFIO)

Both DEST and CPT are qualifying papers.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *